Parsons Almshouses were built after 1816 in Grove Place, later known as Kybald Street. The houses were built by John Parsons (Bishop of Peterborough), James Thompson, and Herbert Parsons, in accordance with the will of Alderman John Parsons. Rules specified that 4 almsmen and 4 almswomen (all unmarried) should attend St. Mary the Virgin church each Sunday, and receive pensions of £30 per annum The almshouses gradually fell into disuse and became part of University College in 1959. Eight new Parsons almshouses were subsequently built in St. Clements, adjacent to Stone's Hospital.
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 160 O34/9
- Dates of Creation1885-1967