Also known as Brymbo Non Provided School, Brymbo Mixed Council Schools from 1935 and Brymbo Secondary Modern School from 1945.
Brymbo Council School opened in 1908 in temporary accomodation in the Brymbo Working Men's Institute and the infants department of Pentre Council School. The was rivalry between the established Brymbo National School which had re-opened as the Brymbo Charity School in January 1908 after refusing to submit plans to become a council school after the 1902 Education Act.
In 1910 the school became a mixed school. On 12th April 1912 the new school was opened by Lady Osborne Morgan and 1935 the senior pupil classes became a Central School.
In 1945 the school became a Secondary Modern. In 1972 comprehensive education was introduced and the secondary modern school closed. All children were transferred to Bryn Alyn Comprehensive.
The building was then taken over by The Church in Wales to be used as Brymbo Aided St Mary's.
This collection consists of log books and admission registers.
Ael y Bryn, Brymbo
The collection consists of log books and admission registers.
Related material held at Denbighshire Archives-
DD/DM/73/4- Photographs c.1920-1936
ED/10- Brymbo National School records, 1878-1972
Gordon Watkinson,"History of Education in Brymbo"