Parish records of Harswell

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1653-1812, 1814-1993; register of marriages, 1672-1744, 1760-1812, 1815-1837, 1840-1968; register of burials, 1659-1809, 1815-1990; register of banns, 1933-1946; register of services, 1901-1918; records concerning benefice income, including tithe accounts, 1763-1795, tithe commutation papers, 1796, tithe composition dues, 1817, and glebe deeds, 1848-1855; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1849-1887, briefs, 1802-1807, and fabric papers, 1870, c.1900, 1945; records of incumbents, including dilapidations papers, 1901, and statistical returns, 1956, 1958; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including garden fete committee minutes of meetings and accounts, 1951-1958; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1932-1970.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Harswell from at least the late twelfth century when William Salvin held the estate and a church there. At some point the advowson passed to the Gascoigne family. It was in the hands of the Slingsbys of Scriven Park by the seventeenth century.

The church, which is dedicated to St Peter, was rebuilt in 1870-1871 by James Fowler of Louth, at the expense of Sir Thomas Slingsby and his wife Emma. The rectory house was rebuilt in 1856.

In the ninteenth century the rector of Harswell was also curate-in-charge of nearby Seaton Ross.

Today the parish of Harswell is part of the united benefice of the Holme and Seaton Ross Group, together with Bielby, Everingham, Holme on Spalding Moor and Seaton Ross.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1979 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1980, 1984, 1985, 1993 and 1996.

Note

There was a church at Harswell from at least the late twelfth century when William Salvin held the estate and a church there. At some point the advowson passed to the Gascoigne family. It was in the hands of the Slingsbys of Scriven Park by the seventeenth century.

The church, which is dedicated to St Peter, was rebuilt in 1870-1871 by James Fowler of Louth, at the expense of Sir Thomas Slingsby and his wife Emma. The rectory house was rebuilt in 1856.

In the ninteenth century the rector of Harswell was also curate-in-charge of nearby Seaton Ross.

Today the parish of Harswell is part of the united benefice of the Holme and Seaton Ross Group, together with Bielby, Everingham, Holme on Spalding Moor and Seaton Ross.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1996.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1653-1812, 1814-1993, marriages, 1671-1900, and burials, 1659-1809, 1815-1990, churchwardens' accounts, 1849-1887, tithe award, 1840, tithe rent book, 1763-1795, and tithe papers, 1796, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 694, 1753, 882, 1755, 1773, 1776).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 19.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193