The records comprise two signed minute books. The first (BEW 1) records proceedings of generalmeetings between 1901 and 1948, and directors' minutes from 1900 to 1903. The second (BEW 2)contains minutes of directors' meetings from 1943 to 1948. The minutes contain little evidence aboutthe practical activities of the company and focus more on matters such as share ownership and theappointment of staff and auditors.
Records of the Wellingborough Electric Supply Company Limited, 1900-1948
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 BEW
- Dates of Creation1900-1948
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description2 volumes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Wellingborough Electric Supply Company Limited was known as the County of NorthamptonElectric Power and Traction Company Limited until 1911. It was incorporated in 1900. In 1901, thecompany signed a contract with the Electrical Power Distribution Company Limited (later the BritishElectric Traction Company) for electrical supply but later in the decade, it erected a power stationat Wellingborough from where it supplied electricity to customers in Northamptonshire.Wellingborough Council was an early client and the company provided the town with street lighting.The company was closely associated with the Northampton Electric Light and Power Company Limited andthe Rushden and District Electric Supply Company Limited.
The company was nationalised with the rest of the electric power industry in 1948 and itsactivities were taken over by the East Midlands Electricity Board.
No archival arrangement has been necessary.
Conditions Governing Access
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers subject torestrictions concerning personal information.
REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.
Other Finding Aids
This description is the only finding aid available for the minute books. Copyright in thedescription belongs to The University of Nottingham.
Conditions Governing Use
COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of the minute books must be sought in advance inwriting from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email firstname.lastname@example.org). The Department willtry to assist in identifying copyright owners but this is often difficult and the responsibility forcopyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishing to publish.
The fate of the bulk of the company's archive is not known. The present collection comprisingonly of minute books, retained by the East Midlands Electricity Board, was given to The Universityof Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections in April 2000 by PowerGen.