Photographs of two school outings
Maesteg Secondary School, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1898 a school was erected on a site on Castle Street, Maesteg to educate 208 mixed pupils. At this time it was called Maesteg Higher Standard School and its name was changed by 1920 to Maesteg Secondary School.
Conditions Governing Access
Donated by a private individual, Feb 2017
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by H Thomas for Glamorgan Archives
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained
The records were acquired by Thomas Richards, a teacher at Maesteg Secondary School and grandfather of the donor. Thomas Richards wrote a series of books chronicling his life and one of these, entitled ‘Rhagor o Atgofion Cardi’, has a chapter detailing his time at Maesteg School
Accruals are not expected