The collection contains one printed attendance booklet, issued by the British Red Cross Society. There are spaces for each day of work, which have been filled in with the date (from 23 February 1942 to 31 October 1944), the number of hours worked at the Children's Hospital, and the initials of the Ward Sister and the Commandant of the Notts 42 Detachment.
Attendance booklet of a Red Cross nurse working at Nottingham Children's Hospital, 1942-1944
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 MS 336
- Dates of Creation1942-1944
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 item
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Nottingham Children's Hospital was founded as a charitable institution in 1869 by public subscription, with the aim of providing 'for the reception, maintenance and medical treatment of children of the poor under ten years of age'. Its official title was the Free Hospital for Sick Children but it was also known as 'St Lucy's', as the first nursing staff were recruited from the Sisters of St Lucy. Its first home was Russell House, Postern Street, Nottingham, a property presented by the daughter of the architect, T.C. Hine. In 1899, the hospital moved to Forest House, Chestnut Grove,off Mansfield Road, to accommodation given by the lace manufacturer, Thomas Birkin. A new wing was opened by H.R.H. Princess Mary, Viscountess Lascelles, in 1927. In 1978, the Children's Hospital closed and its occupants became the first in-patients of University Hospital, Queen's Medical Centre.
Miss Alice M. Harby was living at 7 Victoria Embankment, Nottingham, in 1942, and was a member of the Notts 42 Detachment of the British Red Cross Society.
No archival arrangement has been necessary.
Conditions Governing Access
Accessible to all registered readers.
Other Finding Aids
This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright on the description belongs to The University of Nottingham.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Conditions Governing Use
Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational and private study purposes only, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.
Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult.
Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in writing from the Keeper of Manuscripts and Special Collections
The booklet was donated to the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections by Miss Harby in 1992.