Malltraeth and Corsddaugau Marsh Commission minute, account and drainage rate books, correspondence, ledgers, 1788 - 1953; Cors - y - bol Drainage Board minute book, 1924 - 1931; Corsybol Marsh drainage board minutes, 1924 - 1931; Anglesey Rivers Catchment Board correspondence, minute book 1931 - 1952; and Anglesey County Council water schemes, 1936 - 1985, consisting of tenders, laying of water mains, and sewage disposal works.
Welsh Water Authority, Anglesey, and Malltraeth Marsh Commission Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Malltraeth and Corsddaugau Marsh Act 1788, was passed 'for dividing and enclosing the marsh, embanking and making channels for draining and allowing free use by boats upon payment of rates to support the work'. Evan Lloyd of Maesyporth, the Rev. John Williams of Trefoffos, and the Rev. Richard Griffith of Bangor were appointed as Commissioners for the enclosure. The Malltraeth Marsh Commission continued to operate until 1953. The Anglesey War Agricultural Executive Committee and Anglesey's Rivers Catchment Board met the Malltraeth Marsh Commissioners to discuss the closure of the Drainage Scheme in 1945. The Anglesey Rivers Catchment Board was active between 1924-1952. In 1953, the Commission's powers were transferred to the North West Wales River Board. Anglesey County Council's Water Committee oversaw various water supply schemes.
Conditions Governing Access
Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions
Deposited by the Welsh Water Authority, 1980, 1982 and 1996.
Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Cyflwr da /Good condition
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were consulted in the compilation of this description: Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives, Catalogue, Papurau Awdurdod Dwr, Water Authority Papers; Jones, Evan J., 'The enclosure movement in Anglesey', Anglesey Antiquarian Society and Field Club Transactions, 1926; personal correspondence with Anne Venables, Archivist, Anglesey County Council.
Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.
Mae croniadau yn bosibl/Accruals are possible