Colliery Managers' Reports 1928
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Bedwellty Colliery was situated near Tredegar in the Sirhowy Valley, Gwent. It was worked by the Tredegar Iron and Coal Co. from the mid 1800s to the 1900s. It consisted of two pits (Nos. 1 and 2) and two Levels (Nos. 1 and 2). In July 1898, the pits were linked to the newly opened McLaren Colliery at Abetysswg in the Rhymney Valley.
Bedwellty was originally opened to provide coal for the Tredegar Ironworks which opened in 1800. The Tredegar Iron & Coal Co. Ltd.was formed in 1873 when the company started to concentrate more on coal production. It continued to be a success into the twentieth century but suffered badly during the trade depression of the 1920s and 30s. The Colliery closed shortly after 1930.
Source: Ray Lawrence, The South Wales Coalfield Directory, Vol. 2 (1998 edn), p. 66
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.