London University: Theological Institution Letter

Scope and Content

Two letters, one from the University, signed by Thomas Coates, dated 5th February 1833, soliciting support for the Theological Institution. The second letter, dated 22nd February 1833, is from an unknown correspondent, presumably to the University, declining to support the Institution. Also a manuscript list of names of subscribers.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Theological Institution was founded in July 1829 "for the benefit of students of the University" to provide lodgings for the students supervised by an Anglican clergyman who would oversee their academic studies and "convey to them systematic religious instruction according to the tenets of the Church of England". The original plan was for Thomas Dale, Professor of English, to deliver a course of lectures and to head the Institution , but on his resignation in 1830 the Theological Institution was closed. This letter shows that there was an attempt to re-establish the Institution in 1833, with the Rev. Stebbing, Preacher at St. James' Chapel, Hampstead Road, recommended to lead it. This plan was presumably unsuccessful.

Access Information


The papers are available subject to the usual conditions of access to Archives and Manuscripts material, after the completion of a Reader's Undertaking.