This collection consists of deeds and other legal documents relating to the town and parish of Holyhead, Anglesey. The properties covered include, Penycei, Willow Garden, Swift's Court and others. Featuring in relation to the lease of a dwelling house in 1819 at Willow Garden is Jane Jones of Beaumaris who was a daughter of William Morris, one of the celebrated Morris brothers of Anglesey.
Holyhead Deeds and Legal Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Holyhead on the most Western point of Anglesey, is one of the island's main towns. Located on Ynys Cybi or Holy Island, it is joined to the rest of Anglesey by an embankment which carries the motorway and also the railway to Holyhead with daily sailings from the port of Holyhead across the Irish Sea to Dublin. Holyhead was administered as part of Holyhead Union and it came under the jurisdiction of Anglesey Petty Sessional Division.
Material was received on separate occasions, arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Items 10019-10033 were deposited by Messrs T.R. Evans, Hughes & Co. Solicitors, 3 Victoria Terrace, Holyhead.
Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, November 2001
Other Finding Aids
Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 7316-7338, 8061-8089, 10019-10033
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.