Neath Mechanics’ Institution records

Scope and Content

Annual report

Administrative / Biographical History

Neath Mechanics’ Institution was established in 1843 to promote the improvement of working class men. An evening school was held twice a week at the town hall and a library was established. In 1848 the Institution moved to premises in Church Place where the library and reading room were open daily during the week.

Access Information

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available at the Neath Mechanics' Institute.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.


Accruals are possible.