Records of Aethwy RDC, comprising minute books and other minutes, 1900 - 1974; Treasurer's account books, 1945 - 1971; general ledgers, 1895 - 1969; valuation lists, 1934 - 1970; poor rate books, 1897 - 1927; rate books for different parishes, 1927 - 1973; rent charge books, 1929 - 1948; wage books and other financial records, 1944 - 1970; report books of Sanitary Inspectors and Inspectors of Nuisances, 1907 - 1943; registers of new dwellings, 1957 - 1972; and records of Dwyran RDC, 1892 - 1933; including minute books, 1911 - 1928; cash book, 1892 - 1924; and ledgers, 1910 - 1933.
Aethwy Rural District Council and Dwyran Rural District Council Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Aethwy and Dwyran Rural District Councils (RDCs), Anglesey, were established under the provisions of then Local Government Act 1894. RDCs were bodies consisting of councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. They originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from the local sanitary authorities and their responsibilities could include sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries, parks, licensing of public entertainments, and later housing. RDCs could be administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Medical Officer of Health, Surveyor and Sanitary Inspector. Dwyran comprised the south-eastern part of the island, while Aethwy comprised the eastern portion; they covered the civil parishes of Llandegfan, Llanddaniel (Llanddaniel-Fab), Llanddona, Llanfair Pwllgwyngyll, Llanfihangel Ysgeifiog, Llangadwaladr, Llangaffo, Llangeinwen, Llangoed, Llangristiolus, Llaniestyn Rural, Llannidan (Llanidan), Llansadwrn, Newborough (Niwbwrch), Penmynydd, Pentraeth and Trefdraeth. In 1933 the two Councils were amalgamated as Aethwy RDC, which was abolished in 1974.
Arranged into the following: Clerk's department; Treasurer's department.
Conditions Governing Access
Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions
Many of the records were transferred following the abolition of the Council in 1974.
Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)
Other Finding Aids
Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifau Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Archifau Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Cyflwr da /Good condition
The following sources were used to compile this description: Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives, Records of Aethwy Rural District Council; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Richards, Melville (ed.), Atlas Môn (Anglesey Community Council, 1972); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997).
Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained
Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected