Bromfield Petty Sessional Division, records of

Scope and Content

Petty Sessions began at the beginning of the 18th century as extra meetings to lessen the burden on Justices of the Peace in Quarter Sessions. The normal practice was to subdivide a shire into geographical divisions with each magistrate being assigned to a particular division. The Sessions were held twice monthly in each division as opposed to the Quarter Sessions, which were held every three months.

The Petty Sessions dealt mainly with minor cases such as drunkenness, assaults, larceny, trespassing, fraud and juvenile cases, as well as ale licensing and adoption. They required the presence of two Justices of the Peace but no jury.

Bromfield Petty Sessional Division covered the areas of Burton; Allington; Holt; Isycoed; Abenbury; Bieston; Gresford; Llay; Gwersyllt; Broughton; Brymbo; Minera; Bersham; Esclusham Above, Esclusham Below; Erddig; Marchwiel, Sesswick.

This collection includes: minute books, court registers, juvenile court registers, financial records, registers of licences and other miscellaneous registers.

Related material-

PSD/O- Wrexham Maelor Petty Session records



Petty Session records are arranged as follows-

Minutes; Court Registers; Juvenile Court Registers; Accounts; Registers of Licences; Register of habitual drunkards; Register of clubs; Miscellaneous Registers and Miscellaneous.

Access Information

100 year closure period.

Related Material