Memorandums of Agreements relating to service provisions of the Burry Port and Gwendraeth Valley Railway, Carmarthenshire, 1872-1920.
Burry Port and Gwendraeth Valley Railway Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Burry Port and Gwendraeth Valley Railway, Carmarthenshire, was opened in 1869 for goods traffic only. It ran for 13 miles from a junction at Llanelli, through Burry Port and up the valley of Gwendraeth Fawr to Cwm Mawr. In 1909 it was converted to carry passengers, but was closed in 1953 except for freight transport.
Conditions Governing Access
Source not recorded
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Business Records; The Colonel Stephens Society Homepage (http://www.colonelstephenssociety.org.uk/index.htm), viewed 21 October 2003.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records deposited at Carmarthenshire Archives Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected