Efydd Arfon Collection of Poetry

Scope and Content

A collection of poetry described as the works of the main poets of Caernarfonshire, Anglesey and Merioneth, written in the hand of Robert R. Roberts. The volume consists of englynion, cywyddau and other poems composed by various poets including Eben Fardd, Alafon, Mynyddog, Deiniolfryn, Trebor Mai, R. Mon Williams, Dewi Gwallter, Gwilym Alltwen, Owain Arfon, Ioan Eryri, Gwelltyn Gwynfa, Alarch Glan Dyfi, Dewi Glan Dulas, Trebor Aled, Gutyn Arfon, Ioan Deudraeth, Rhys Goch Eryri, Llew Llwyfo and others.

Administrative / Biographical History

No biographical information was available regarding creator of collection, Robert R. Roberts, at time of compilation of description. It is probable that his bardic name was Efydd Arfon.

The poems were composed by numerous Welsh poets, living in the 19th to early 20th century.


Item incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts

Access Information

Open to all users.

Acquisition Information

Presented by Mrs Gwyneth Jones of Bontnewydd, Caernarfonshire.


Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, June 2002.

Other Finding Aids

A detailed, item level, typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference number : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 37968

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.