Bye-laws and regulations 1878-1899, reports 1826 1946, minute books 1902 1939, minutes of committees 1893-1974, ledgers 1894 1934, staff records 1911, miscellaneous records 1867-1973, Dundee Convalescent Home minute book 1872-1877, patient registers as follows: admissions and discharges 1842-1926, in-patients 1927-1970, admissions 1949-1963, in-patients indexes 1925-1949 and 1970, out-patients 1940-1962, out-patients indexes 1928-1947, accidents and urgent cases 1919-1926, casualty 1948-1963, casualty indexes 1927-1945, accident and emergency 1975-1979, maternity statistical 1937-1972, ante-natal care 1933-1955, gynaecological theatre in-patients 1953-1948, 1972-1973, gynaecological theatre out-patients 1957-1966, gynaecological theatre operations 1947-1978, 1955-1975, gynaecological theatre anaesthetics 1964-1973, orthopaedic 1950-1955, theatre 1950-1963, ward 1954-1965, eye clinic 1946-1960, orthopaedic/trauma out-patients 1965-1970, death 1943-1956, mortuary 1946-1970.
Dundee Royal Infirmary
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Dundee Royal Infirmary had its origins in the Voluntary Dispensary founded in the city by public subscription in 1782. In 1798 it centralised its activities by building a 56-bed infirmary in King Street, Dundee, with further developments in 1812 when the Lunatic Asylum was erected on ground in Albert Street now covered by Baxter Park. The Infirmary was granted a Royal Charter by George III in 1819, establishing it as the 'Dundee Royal Infirmary and Asylum'.
By the mid nineteenth century the King Street premises were no longer adequate and in 1852 building started on a new site in Barrack Road. In 1855 the hospital moved to its new buildings and began to diversify its services with new children's, ear and eye, ear nose and throat wards and out patient clinic. The infirmary was granted further Royal Charters in 1877 and 1898 - the former on the occasion of the opening of a convalescent home at Barnhill and the second providing for the addition of a maternity hospital. In July 1948 the running of the Infirmary was transferred to the National Health Service in accordance with the 1947 National Health Service (Scotland) Act. The hospital closed in 1998.
Records are arranged chronologically within series. 14.5 linear metres have been catalogued and approximately 6-10 linear metres of material are awaiting arrangement.
Conditions Governing Access
Clinical information is closed for 100 years.
The records were deposited by the University Medical History Museum and by the Health Board records officer in 1998 and 1999 (AccM/368, AccM/374, AccM/375, AccM/381 AccM/383). A residency book was deposited by a private depositor in 1991 (AccM/273).
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, July 2001.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available. There are handlists for the uncatalogued material.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.
Location of Originals
The material is original.
Gibson, Henry J C Dundee Royal Infirmary 1798 to 1948 (1948)