Dinas Noddfa Welsh Baptist Church, Landore, Swansea

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

D/D W/Bap 35/1/1-6 Minute books

D/D W/Bap 35/2 Records of burials in Dinas Noddfa cemetery

D/D W/Bap 35/3/1-9 Cash books and ledgers, including records of members' contributions

D/D W/Bap 35/4/1-9 Annual reports

D/D W/Bap 35/5/1-11 Legal papers

D/D W/Bap 35/6/1-5 Records relating to church buildings and property

D/D W/Bap 35/7/1-3 Plans

D/D W/Bap 35/8/1-12 Photographs

D/D W/Bap 35/9/1-5 Records relating to events in the life of the church

Administrative / Biographical History

Dinas Noddfa was a Welsh Baptist chapel situated on Dinas Street, Landore, Swansea. The cause began with a congregation meeting in an old engine house in 1780, before building a chapel in 1824. A new chapel was built in 1853 and the old one turned into a house. The new chapel came with a burial ground, opened in 1855. It was in turn extended in 1871, then rebuilt in 1884, at a time when the population of the area was expanding, and the chapel congregation had become too large to fit in the existing building. A Sunday School (Ysgol Sul y Parc) was established in 1878 in Parc Llewelyn. By 2012 the congregation had declined in number, and the decision was taken to close the church. The building was sold in April 2012. (See William Joseph Rees, 'Hanes y Ddinas Noddfa, Glandwr, Abertawe' (1934), West Glamorgan Archives reference CHU 73 for a history of the chapel in Welsh)

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.