Comprising: Registration: Registers of baptisms 1557-1924; registers of marriages 1557-1925; registers of burials 1557-1890; registers of banns 1925-1973; registers of confirmations 1902-1959; records of services 1868-2011 Draft registers of baptism 1755-1854, 1935-1950, marriages 1935-1949 burials 1784-1854; Incumbent 1795, 1828, 1887-1985; churchwardens: accounts 1854-1958, fabric 1736-1962 including the rebuilding of the church by G Gilbert Scott after its destruction by fire 1853-1865, with six plans and elevations by Scott, other records of the churchwardens 1775-1975; PCC minutes 1920-1974, 1983-1991 accounts 1933-1968 and other records 1904-1976 including correspondence files, with file on the parish church schools 1927-1934; choir and organ 1787, 1901-1962; men's society minutes 1910-1950; Auxiliary organisations 1715-1954, including parish library 1715-1737; Charities 1832-1961; Schools: Doncaster National Schools: committee minutes 1815-1953, accounts 1891-1965 and other records 1868-1951; Grammar School, miscellaneous records 1882-1913; Other records: photographs etc of the church, 19th -20th century; printed works 1834-1979, including Rev J Jackson, 'History of St George's Church'; (1858) and Vaughan memorial lectures (11) 1953-1969.
DONCASTER, ST GEORGE PARISH RECORDS
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 197 P1
- Dates of Creation1557-2011
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description65 boxes1.040 cubic metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
This was the ancient parish of Doncaster, from which were created the six parishes of Balby St John, Doncaster Christ Church, Doncaster St James, Hexthorpe St Jude, Sprotbrough St Edmund and Wheatley St Mary. The church was destroyed by fire in 1853 and the new church was designed by George Gilbert Scott, with interventions by Lord Grimthorpe.
Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries