Astronomical observations made in the Observatory at Aberdeen, by Andrew McKay, 1785 - 1791.Patrick Copland (1749 - 1822), Professor of Natural Philosophy at Marischal College, Aberdeen, was instrumental in securing the building of the Observatory, on land granted by Aberdeen Town Council. The site was requisitioned by the Government, in 1795, for a powder magazine.
Papers of Andrew McKay (fl 1781 - 1804), mathematician
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Andrew McKay (LLD Marischal College, Aberdeen, 1786), was keeper of Aberdeen's first Observatory, on Castlehill, from it's completion in 1781 until it's removal from the site in 1795. His calculations on the latitude and longitude of Aberdeen were published in the Transactions of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, 4, (1792), 135 - 161. He was an examiner in mathematics to the East India Company in 1804, and author of several works on navigation.
Conditions Governing Access
Open, subject to signature accepting conditions of use at reader registration sheet
Date and source not recorded
Other Finding Aids
Very brief collection level description available on Aberdeen University Library Catalogue, accessible online http://www.abdn.ac.uk/diss/library/
Alternative Form Available
No copies known
Conditions Governing Use
Subject to the condition of the original, copies may be supplied for private research use only on receipt of a signed undertaking to comply with current copyright legislation.
Permission to make any published use of material from the collection must be sought in advance from the Head of Special Libraries and Archives (e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org) and, where appropriate, from the copyright owner. Where possible, assistance will be given in identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.
This material has been appraised in line with normal procedures
No accruals expected
No known publications using this material
This material is original