Records of Williams, Davies and Co., 1879-1979, including registration records, 1956-1958; minutes of director's and annual meetings, 1965-1979; deeds relating to lands in the town of Llanelli and legal documents, 1879-1955; financial records, 1872-1978; insurance records, 1913-1969; correspondence, 1907-1969; inventories, 1961-1964; and miscellaneous records, [mid 20th century].
Williams, Davies and Co., Timber merchants, Llanelli Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 211 DB95
- Dates of Creation1879-1979
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish Welsh
- Physical Description0.12 cubic metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Williams, Davies and Co. were timber merchants in Llanelli, Carmarthenshire, in the late 19th and 20th centuries. In 1879, Samuel Williams, Joseph Williams and Daniel Davies, timber and slate merchants, leased land in Pemberton Street, Llanelli, as well as the steam saw mills known as Dolau Works. By 1895, the Dolau Works had become known as the South Walls Saw Mills.
Arranged into the following: registration; director's and Annual General Meetings; legal; financial; insurance; correspondence; inventories; printed; miscellaneous; and title deeds.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Mr Christopher Delaney, County Museums Officer, 1990 and Trethowans, Solicitiors, Salisbury, Wiltshire, England.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Business Records.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records deposited at Carmarthenshire Archives Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected