The archive consists of 48 manuscript letters concerning the Writers' Club, the majority addressed to committee members Miss Florence Routledge (daughter of publisher George, and later wife of playwright St John Hankin), and some to Miss EE Dickinson (Honorary Secretary), concerning subscriptions, meetings, membership, recommendations and well wishing.
Records of the Writers' Club
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 106 6WCW
- Dates of Creationc.1891-1900
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 Album
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Writers' Club [for Women] (1892-fl.1920) was founded in 1892 by the journalist Frances Low at 10 Norfolk Street, near Fleet Street, London. It claimed to be unique in being the only club devoted to women of one profession. Entry, which was limited to 300, was based on evidence of literary or journalistic work. Entrance fee was one guinea for town members and the same amount for the annual subscription. Many well -known authors were members and a quiet room was reserved for writing. The suite included a writing room, dining room, kitchen, cloakroom and two reception rooms. 'At Homes' were held every Friday afternoon when guests (including men) could be invited to tea. No residential accommodation was provided and silence was enforced in the Writing Room. In the early 1900s a group of members, dissatisfied with the Club's lack of physical amenities, broke away under the leadership of Constance Smedley, to form the Lyceum Club. The Writers' Club was still in existence in the 1920s.
Original order lost, arranged alphabetically by surname and chronologically where possible.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is available for research. Readers are advised to contact The Women's Library in advance of their first visit.
Purchased by the Women's Library at auction, 20 Jul 2005.
Other Finding Aids
The Women's Library Catalogue