The 1674 Easter book of the parish of St Mary Beverley was donated to the Brynmor Jones Library by Mrs Patrick in March 1935. It is a complete record of the collection of tithes and it reveals that the parish had 800 inhabitants, 100 of whom were dissenters. There were no papists.
Easter Book of the Parish of St Mary, Beverley 1674
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
St Mary's church in Beverley in the East Riding of Yorkshire was established as the town church by the mid-12th century. Described by Nikolaus Pevsner as one of the most beautiful parish churches in England it is located at North Bar within. The vicar in 1674 was John Brereton (Pevsner & Neave, York and the East Riding, p.294; Hope, A guide to St Mary's church, p.27).
Conditions Governing Access
Originally published by Access to Archives - A2A. The data in this finding aid is in the copyright of the place of deposit.
Other Finding Aids
listed to item level
Hope, E, A guide to St Mary's church Beverley (1948)
Pevsner, N & Neave, D, The buildings of England: York and the East Riding (1995)