Neath Abbey Estate Papers

Scope and Content

Family settlements 1656-1676; deeds 1571-1890; lists of abbey lands, tenements and tenants n.d., 17th cent. and 1810; sales particulars 1838-1947; plans 1838-1947

Administrative / Biographical History

The Neath Abbey estate was a compact area to the north and west of the town of Neath, in the parish of Cadoxton-juxta-Neath, Glamorgan, which were given for the foundation of Neath Abbey in 1130. After its dissolution in 1539 the lands of the abbey were sold to Sir Richard Williams alias Cromwell. The family however did not occupy the abbey, and it was sold towards the end of the century to Sir John Herbert, who converted the monastic buildings into a manor house. In the absence of a male heir the estate passed to the Doddington family and then to the Hoby family. In 1699 Mrs Hoby died, and her estate was divided between her three daughters. Katherine, who married Griffith Rice of Dinefwr, Carmarthenshire, inherited the bulk of the property, and 2/3 of the minerals, but her sisters Elizabeth (who married Henry Compton) and Ann (who married William Stanley) also had a stake in the estate. In 1946 the estate was sold.


Arranged as follows: settlements, deeds, schedules of estate lands, sales particulars and plans.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Source not recorded.


Compiled by Andrew Dulley for the ANW project.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available at the Neath Mechanics' Institute.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained.


Accruals are not expected.

Related Material

More extensive holdings are held at the West Glamorgan Archive Service in Swansea (reference D/D D) and the Carmarthenshire Archive Service (Dynevor Mss)