Minute book, cash books, petty cash book, annual balance sheets, copy rent books, insurance policies, bills, receipts and other financial papers, letters and copy letters, plan, letting forms, ?press release and newspaper cutting.
Pontardulais and District Memorial and Welfare Hall Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Tivoli Cinema was opened on the 13th September 1926, at 33 St. Teilo Street, Pontardulais, by the Saunders family of Pontardulais. The cinema was taken over by the South Western Miners' Welfare Committee of the Coal Industry Social Welfare Organisation after the Second World War and run as Pontardulais and District Memorial and Welfare Hall. The hall was managed by a committee which included trustees from local lodges of the National Union of Miners and received annual donations from the National Coal Board. The managing secretary who oversaw the day to day management of the hall was Mr G. W. Saunders.
Up until mid 1967, film performances were the main source of income for the hall. By October 1969 attendance at the cinema was low and the committee reduced the number of showings to two a week. By 1970 the film showings were making a loss of £30-40, a week and so the decision was taken to cease them.
By 1971 the hall was in financial difficulty. The committee sought financial support from Llwchwr Urban District Council who gave them a grant of £600 providing that the committee maintained the hall and did not organise events itself, merely let it be used for occasional concerts. In 1980 the Hall was leased out as a cinema for three years.
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained
Accruals are not expected.