Anglesey Wesleyan Circuit Records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Records relating to Wesleyan Methodists in Anglesey, 1806 - 1990, comprising records relating to the Anglesey Circuit, 1824 - 1990. the Amlwch Circuit, 1848 - 1976. Holyhead Circuit, 1860 - 1984. Holyhead and Amlwch Circuit, 1839 - 1969. Beaumaris Circuit, 1858 - 1971. records of chapels in Holyhead, including, Capel Bethel, 1845 - 1985. Capel Gwynfa, 1888 - 1968. Capel Seion, 1852 - 1980. Capel Hebron, Four Mile Bridge, 1873 - 1978. Capel Horeb, Rhosneigr, 1903 - 1967. Llangfaelog, 1858 - 1949. Capel Ebenezer, Trefor, 1878 - 1976. Capel Elim, Bodorgan, 1843 - 1980. Niwbwrch, 1901 - 1915. Capel Seion, Aberffraw, 1879 - 1987. Pencarnisiog, 1865 - 1972. Capel Soar, Bodedern, 1943 - 1949. Capel Bethel, Amlwch, 1838 - 1976. Capel Caersalem, Llaneilian, 1854 - 1936. Capel Bethania, Tregele, 1851 - 1977. Capel Seion, Burwen, 1886 - [?1924]. Capel Nebo, Llanfairynghornwy, 1810 - 1973. Capel Llanfaen, Amlwch Circuit, [n. d.]. Capel Ebenezer, Beaumaris, 1823 - 1944. Capel Salem, Llanfairpwll, 1841 - 1975. Capel Penuel, Llangoed, 1843 - 1969. Llanddona, 1900 - 1931. Capel Seion, Menai Bridge, 1842 - 1977. Capel Ebenezer, Llangefni, 1840 - 1977. Miscellaneous, 1806 - 1978.

Administrative / Biographical History

Wesleyanism, or Wesleyan Methodism, is the doctrine of the Methodist Church established by John Wesley (1703-1790) who preached in Wales between 1739 and 1790. Wesleyan Methodism in Wales served both English- and Welsh-speaking communities, with parallel organisations (individual chapels linked to form Circuits, which were part of Districts). The North Wales District included the Beaumaris Circuit and the Amlwch and Holyhead English Circuit. Wesleyan Methodists are known as Methodists in England and the common use of Methodist in Wales relates to the Calvinistic Methodists.

Arrangement

Arranged into the following: Anglesey Methodist Circuit; Amlwch Circuit; Holyhead Circuit; Holyhead and Amlwch Circuit; Beaumaris Circuit; Capel Bethel; Capel Gwynfa; Capel Seion; Capel Hebron, Four Mile Bridge; Capel Horeb, Rhosneigr; Llangfaelog; Capel Ebenezer, Trefor; Capel Elim; Niwbwrch; Capel Seion, Aberffraw; Pencarnisiog; Capel Soar, Bodedern; Capel Bethal, Amlwch; Capel Caersalem; Capel Bethania, Tregele; Capel Seion, Burwen; Capel Nebo, Llanfairynghornwy; Capel Ebenezer, Beaumaris; Capel Salem, Llanfairpwll; Capel Penuel, Llangoed; Llanddona; Capel Seion, Menai Bridge; Capel Ebenezer, Llangefni; miscellaneous; artefacts.

Conditions Governing Access

In the main there are no restrictions, a few items are closed that contain information defined as personal data as defined in the 1998 Act

Acquisition Information

Wesleyan Methodists

Note

Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)

Other Finding Aids

Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifau Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Archifau Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Cyflwr da /Good condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives, Records of the Anglesey Wesleyan Circuit catalogue; Methodism in Wales website (www.westwales.co.uk/methodism), viewed 28/06/04.

Appraisal Information

Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.

Accruals

Mae croniadau yn bosibl/Accruals are possible

Related Material

Related material is Archifdy Ynys Mon/Anglesey County Record Office, WDAAA [The English language circuit]. Artefacts which were part of the collection were transferred to Oriel Ynys Mon.