Records of Royal Victoria Eye Infirmary, eye hospital, Paisley, Scotland

Scope and Content

  • Registers of admissions and discharges 1888-1976
  • Registers of operations 1918-1979

Administrative / Biographical History

The original  Royal Victoria Eye Infirmary opened in  1888  with 4 beds. A new 17 bed building replaced it in 1897. This was further extended in 1926. The Royal Victoria Eye Infirmary joined the National Health Service in  1948  and was under the Board of Management for Paisley and District Hospitals until  1974  when it was placed in the Renfrew District of Argyll and Clyde Health Board. In  1986  the staff and patients were transferred to the new Royal Alexandra Infirmary and the Eye Infirmary was closed.


Chronological within record class

Conditions Governing Access

Normal 30 year and 75 year closures apply

Acquisition Information


Other Finding Aids

Descriptive list

Alternative Form Available

No known copies

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Alistair Tough, Greater Glasgow NHS Board Archivist, 30 July 1998

Conditions Governing Use

Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist.

Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.

Appraisal Information

This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 812 procedures

Custodial History

Records held within National Health Service prior to transfer


None expected

Related Material

GB 812 AC21 Paisley and District Hospitals Board of Management; AC57 Renfrew District of Argyll and Clyde Health Board, Paisley; HB28 Western Regional Hospital Board, Glasgow.


No known publications using this material