- Registers of admissions and discharges 1888-1976
- Registers of operations 1918-1979
Records of Royal Victoria Eye Infirmary, eye hospital, Paisley, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The original Royal Victoria Eye Infirmary opened in 1888 with 4 beds. A new 17 bed building replaced it in 1897. This was further extended in 1926. The Royal Victoria Eye Infirmary joined the National Health Service in 1948 and was under the Board of Management for Paisley and District Hospitals until 1974 when it was placed in the Renfrew District of Argyll and Clyde Health Board. In 1986 the staff and patients were transferred to the new Royal Alexandra Infirmary and the Eye Infirmary was closed.
Chronological within record class
Conditions Governing Access
Normal 30 year and 75 year closures apply
Other Finding Aids
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Compiled by Alistair Tough, Greater Glasgow NHS Board Archivist, 30 July 1998
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 812 procedures
Records held within National Health Service prior to transfer
No known publications using this material