Rhosymedre National School opened on 11th September 1839 at a cost of £218 with £83 being offered towards the costs by the Government. The school was built in the churchyard of Rhosymedre church and was able to accomodate 83 boys and 86 girls. The first heads were husband and wife, John and Elizabeth Jones. By 1864, 109 children were in attendance (ED/LB/93/1)and (ED/LB/93/2).
An inspection of Rhosymedre school in 1869 stated that the schhol was overcrowded and larger accomodation was required.
This collection consists of 2 log books.
Location - Parc Road, Wrexham
25"O.S.map - sheet 35-14 6" O.S. map - 35 SW
Related material held at Denbighshire Archives-
CD/A/4/46- Plan, 1964
CD/A/4/153- Plan, 1965
CD/A/4/158- Plan, 1974
CD/A/4/195- Plan, 1966
PD/93/1/27-30- Parish miscellaneous correspondence and papers, 1938-1973