Aberaman Ecclesiastical Parish Records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Aberaman ecclesiastical parish records including registers of marriage, 1887-1955; baptisms, 1882-1949; banns of marriage, 1893-1952; services, 1927-1935; miscellaneous records, 20th century; relating to Churches of St Margaret, St Barnabas and Abercwmboi mission in the parish of Aberaman.

Administrative / Biographical History

Aberaman was created as a parish in 1883 out of the ancient parish of Aberdare. The church of St Margaret was erected in 1883 at the expense of a mine owner, Sir George Elliot Bart, and dedicated to the memory of his wife Lady Margaret Elliot. St Barnabas, an iron church, was erected in 1897 as a chapel-of-ease. Abercwmboi (formerly Cap Coch) was a conventional district and its church dedicated to St Peter.

Arrangement

Aberaman Ecclessiastical Parish records are arranged numerically under title of register and date which record was accessioned

Conditions Governing Access

No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by the imcumbents of the parish, 1997

Note

Compiled by Annabel Wickham for the ANW Project; Sources used: Glamorgan Record Office finding aids; Williams and Watts-Williams, Cofestri Plwyf Cymru/Parish Registers of Wales, (Aberystwyth, 2000); www.churchinwales.org.uk; www.maggieandjo.org/history

Alternative Form Available

Glamorgan Record Office

Archivist's Note

Compiled by [INSERT NAME] for the Glamorgan Archives, with reference to [NAME ANY PUBLICATIONS USED].

Conditions Governing Use

Normal Glamorgan Record conditions apply

Appraisal Information

All records offered have been accepted and listed

Accruals

Accruals are possible

Related Material

See also Bishops Transcripts of parish for 1900, held at the national library of Wales, Aberystwyth; P137CW (Abercwmboi, St. Peter ecclesiastical parish records)

Location of Originals

Glamorgan Record Office