Records of Capel Coch, -1982, including minutes, 1886-1982, registers of membership, baptisms and deaths, -, financial records, 1832-1980, correspondence, 1907-1981, annual reports, 1965-1980, programmes and orders of service, 1923-, papers relating to the history of the church and to church celebrations, 1921-1977, records relating to the Sunday School, 1867-1976, and contractors' and builders' estimates relating to a new schoolroom, 1907-1909; records of Capel Hebron, 1878-1958, including annual reports, 1925-1955; records of Gorffwysfa, 1870-1981, including minute books, 1888-1975, registers of membership and baptisms, 1872-1978, financial records, 1870-1975, correspondence, 1923-1975, Sunday School records, 1900-1977, and annual reports, 1935-1977; records of Preswylfa, 1886-1974, comprising account and collection books, 1886-1974, annual reports, 1907-1956, and Sunday School account books, 1915-1973; miscellaneous reports, 1948-1979; and miscellaneous religious material, [1876?]-1980.
Papurau Capel Coch
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 XD/49
- Dates of Creation-1982
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialWelsh English
- Physical DescriptionTo be supplied
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Capel Coch was a Calvinistic Methodist chapel founded in the slate quarrying village of Llanberis, Caernarfonshire, in 1777. Various religious revivals, and the expansion of the quarrying industry locally, led to the expansion of Capel Coch's congregation and the building itself. The chapel was rebuilt in 1802 and 1846, with the present building dating from 1893. In addition, at various times members of Capel Coch broke away to establish new chapels in the vicinity. Capel Hebron was established in nearby Gwauncwmbrwynog in 1835, became a separate church in 1859 but closed in 1958. Gorffwysfa was established at Coed y Ddôl in 1866 and produced its own offshoot, Preswylfa, in 1882.
Arranged into the following: Capel Coch; Capel Hebron; Gorffwysfa; Preswylfa; cyffredinol [general]; and adroddiadau [reports].
No information found
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Papurau Capel Coch (Capel Coch Papers), catalogue; Owen, John, Daucanmlwyddiant Eglwys MC Capel Coch Llanberis: Hanes yr Achos 1777-1977 (Gwasg Gwynedd, 1977).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Caernarfon Record Office and the National Library of Wales.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected
Location of Originals
The Baptism Register for 1809-1837 (XD49/1/23) is a copy of the original held at the National Archives.