Records relating to the operational activities of J W Ruddock and Sons, Tailors in York. Collection includes records relating to the ongoing management, financials, staffing and orders by the company.
Records of J W Ruddock Sons, Tailors
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John Ruddock had a tailors' shop in Eshelby Court, off Railway Street (now George Hudson Street) in York from 1851 to c.1881.
His son, John William, was born in 1852. He became a tailor like his father. By 1881, he had his own tailors and drapers business on Jackson Street. In 1886, his shop became a tailors and hatters and moved to 43 Micklegate, where it remained until 1909. In that year, the business expanded, becoming a tailors and breeches-maker and occupying No 42 Micklegate as well.
In 1913, John William Ruddock was joined in the business by his two sons, George and John William Jnr. In the same year the business moved to 101 Micklegate. It remained there until 1967, which is the last time the firm is listed in the city trade directories.
Several other members of the Ruddock family also became tailors, and set up businesses in York.
Conditions Governing Access
Material is available subject to the usual terms and conditions of access to Archives and Local History collections.
Other Finding Aids
More detailed finding aids for this collection can be found online by searching the Explore website ( www.exploreyork.org.uk)
Compiled by Sarah Tester, Community Collections and Outreach Archivist, May 2015.
Conditions Governing Use
Images are supplied for private research only at the Archivist's discretion. Please note that material may be unsuitable for copying on conservation grounds. Researchers who wish to publish material must seek copyright permission from the copyright owner.