Elizabeth Laird Collection

Scope and Content

Archive created by Elizabeth Laird during the course of her career as a children's author. The archive includes material relating to English-language readers written by Laird; draft material and correspondence relating to 25 of her published novels for children, as well as retellings of traditional stories and anthologies edited by Laird; material relating to a British Council project collecting traditional stories in Ethiopia; a small quantity of personal papers and publicity material; and some of her published works.

Administrative / Biographical History

Created by Elizabeth Laird during the course of her career as a writer.


Elizabeth Laird's original file divisions have been retained as far as possible, with files grouped into series according to type as follows:

ELa/01 'First books - simplified English readers'

ELa/02 Novels

ELa/03 Traditional stories and retellings

ELa/04 Anthologies

ELa/05 British Council project on Ethiopian stories

ELa/06 Personal papers

ELa/07 Publicity material

ELa/08 Books and magazines

Further information on the contents of each series can be found at series level in the catalogue.

Access Information

Accessible to all researchers, by appointment only.

Archivist's Note

Seven Stories, National Centre for Children's Books, was established as a registered charity and company limited by guarantee in 1996, with the aims of preserving, maintaining and adding to a growing and accessible collection of archival material, artwork and printed books relating to modern British children's literature. The collection is intended to form part of the national heritage in an archive and library of present and future historical interest for the public benefit. (See Memorandum of Association)

Conditions Governing Use

Copyright in all original material resides with the creator.

Custodial History

Donated to Seven Stories by Elizabeth Laird in 2012.