- Board papers 1970-1980
- Directors' reports and accounts 1970-1982
- Directors' correspondence files 1969-1983
- Company secretary's files 1952-1981
- Financial records 1970-1982
- Planning department files 1968-1980
- Plant and property files 1970-1980
- Personnel and industrial relations files 1949-1984
- Launch of the Ben Ocean Lancer material 1976
- Estimates, 1940s-1980s (unlisted)
- Photograph albums loose photographs and transparencies of ships, the shipyard, personnel and miscellaneous subjects 1940s-1980s
Records of Scotts Shipbuilding Co Ltd, Greenock, Inverclyde, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Scotts Shipbuilding Co Ltd was a shipbuilding and submarine construction company in Greenock, Inverclyde, Scotland, and a division of Scott Lithgow Ltd , Greekock, formed at the merger with Scotts' Shipbuilding & Engineering Co Ltd , Greenock, in 1970.
Prior to merger, the business formed one part of Scotts' Shipbuilding & Engineering Co Ltd . Established in 1711 by John Scott to build herring busses and other small craft, the business was extended by his sons, James and William. It remained a family concern and traded under various combinations of the family name until being incorporated as a limited liability company in 1899 as Scotts' Shipbuilding & Engineering Co Ltd . It absorbed other companies, notably the Greenock Foundry Co in 1904, Scotts & Sons (Bowling) Ltd in 1965 and the Greenock Dockyard Co Ltd in 1966.
In 1967, fololowing the recommendations of the Geddes Committee of Enquiry into the Shipbuilding Industry (1966) the company agreed to the merger with Lithgows Ltd , Port Glasgow, Inverclyde, to form Scott Lithgow Ltd . In order to facilitate this merger, Scotts Shipbuilding Co Ltd was released from Scotts' Shipbuilding & Engineering Co Ltd to become part of the 1969 group of companies. This group of companies went on to become Scott Lithgow Ltd .
Nationalised in 1977, the company was then subject to British Shipbuilders ' reorganisation in April 1981. As part of this consolidation exercise, all company assets were transferred to the Scott Lithgow Ltd .
The business was sold to Trafalgar House plc in 1984 and shipbuilding ceased in 1986.
This material is arranged into series, which consist of numbers of items related by function and/or format. Within series, the items are generally arranged chronologically.
Conditions Governing Access
National Archives of Scotland : 1994
Held under the charge and superintendence of the Keeper of the Records of Scotland
Other Finding Aids
Manual file level list of the Scott Lithgow Group collection available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Requests for large scale copying must be referred to the Keeper of the Records of Scotland
Any requests to publish or reproduce documents from the collection must be referred to the Keeper of the Records of Scotland
This material has been appraised in line with standard National Archives of Scotland procedures
Records held by Scott Lithgow Ltd prior to their acquisition by the National Archives of Scotland
There are no known publications using this material
This material is original
The fonds level of description wascompiled by David Powell, Hub Project Archivist, 10 October 2001
No alterations made to date