Parish records of Bubwith

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1623-1974; register of marriages, 1624-1986; register of burials, 1624-1937 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1781-1808, ages only 1800-08); register of banns, 1795-1804, 1806, 1810, 1823-1847; register of services, 1898-1944; communicants' roll, 1899-1911; Roll of Honour, 1914-1918; records concerning benefice income, including papers, 1886-1963, tithe apportionments and maps of Gribthorpe, 1841, Foggathorpe, 1842-4, Willitoft, 1843, and Spaldington, 1849; charity records, including title deeds governing Hotham’s Charity, 1690, 1712-1896; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1714-1798, 1800-1920, church fabric papers, 1892-1949, plan of church roof, n.d, pew plan, 1797 (with faculty), plans for new church at Spaldington (unbuilt), n.d, War Memorial Committee minute book and accounts, 1919-1922, churchyard papers, including grave plans and lists, 1926-1957, and photographs of church,1895, 1955, 1960; records of incumbents, including statistical returns, 1898-1910, vicarage papers, 1960-1961, and correspondence and historical papers, including photographs, 1843-1974; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including church hall papers, 1965-1966; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1790-1798, 1800-1938, 1992-1995, minute books, 1920-1945, 1969-1995, accounts, 1894-1940, 1950-1990, wayleave agreements, 1905-1969, and insurance papers, 1929-1967; parish boundaries maps, including map of lands for sale in Spaldington, n.d, enclosure award for Bubwith and Harlethorpe, 1832, with map of Harlethorpe, 1837.

Administrative / Biographical History

The earliest reference to a church at Bubwith was c.1138-1143 when a moiety of the church was given by Warin de Bubwith to the Dean and Chapter of York. The second moiety was given to William of Winchester, then rector of Bubwith and a canon of York, by Eustace Fitzjohn. The first moiety remained with the Dean and Chapter until the nineteenth century. The second descended with the de Vescy family (the first de Vescy being the son of Eustace Fitzjohn) until 1349 when it was given to Byland Abbey. Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries it passed to the Crown and in 1847 the two moieties were consolidated into one benefice.

The present parish church of All Saints dates to c.1170, and was extended in the thirteenth, fourteenth and fifteenth centuries. It was refurbished in 1792 and then restored again in the 1890s under the direction of architect Charles Hodgson Fowler. The churchyard was enlarged c.1897-1900. The present vicarage house was built in 1871.

The parish historically included the townships of Bubwith, Breighton, Foggathorpe, Gribthorpe, Gunby, Harlthorpe, Spaldington and Willitoft. At least three chapels of ease existed during the medieval period; at Foggathorpe, Spaldington, and Willotoft, although all three had disappeared by the end of the eighteenth century. Spaldington chapel was dedicated to St James.

Today the parish is known as Bubwith with Ellerton and Aughton. The two churches in the parish are All Saints, Bubwith, and All Saints, Aughton.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1975 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1983, 1987, 1992, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2009.

Note

The earliest reference to a church at Bubwith was c.1138-1143 when a moiety of the church was given by Warin de Bubwith to the Dean and Chapter of York. The second moiety was given to William of Winchester, then rector of Bubwith and a canon of York, by Eustace Fitzjohn. The first moiety remained with the Dean and Chapter until the nineteenth century. The second descended with the de Vescy family (the first de Vescy being the son of Eustace Fitzjohn) until 1349 when it was given to Byland Abbey. Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries it passed to the Crown and in 1847 the two moieties were consolidated into one benefice.

The present parish church of All Saints dates to c.1170, and was extended in the thirteenth, fourteenth and fifteenth centuries. It was refurbished in 1792 and then restored again in the 1890s under the direction of architect Charles Hodgson Fowler. The churchyard was enlarged c.1897-1900. The present vicarage house was built in 1871.

The parish historically included the townships of Bubwith, Breighton, Foggathorpe, Gribthorpe, Gunby, Harlthorpe, Spaldington and Willitoft. At least three chapels of ease existed during the medieval period; at Foggathorpe, Spaldington, and Willotoft, although all three had disappeared by the end of the eighteenth century. Spaldington chapel was dedicated to St James.

Today the parish is known as Bubwith with Ellerton and Aughton. The two churches in the parish are All Saints, Bubwith, and All Saints, Aughton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2009.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1623-1974, marriages, 1624-1978, burials, 1624-1937, and banns, 1795-1810, 1823-1847, churchwardens' accounts, 1714-1861, tithe awards, 1841-1849, and a list of incumbents from 1282 to 1974, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 654-655, 1596, 1752, 1761, 1772).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 21.12.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Bibliography

Yorkshire Parish Register Society, 'The parish registers of bubwith. Baptisms and burials, 1600-1767. Marriages, 1600-1753.' Transcribed and edited by John Charlesworth (Wakefield, 1935).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193