Gyffylliog Parish Records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The records of individual ecclesiastical parishes include registers of baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as records of the churchwardens and Parochial Church Councils, parish charities, schools, clubs and societies.

Parish records were deposited at the Clwyd Record Office, following an agreement of 1976 between the Church in Wales and the Welsh County Councils.

Cyffylliog was a chapel of ease to Llanynys until 26 January 1874, when it was established as a separate parish, comprising the townships of Bontuchel, Trefor (or Cefntrefor), Treganol (or Fachlwyd), Ffiddoedd and Tre'r Parc; which until then had been in the parish of Llanynys.

To all intents and purposes, Cyffylliog had already functioned as a separate parish for many years. In 1878, a further 2007 acres were added to Cyffylliog from the parish of Llanrhaeadr yng Nghinmeirch.

Information taken from http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/wal/DEN/Cyffylliog/index.html (last accessed June 2015)

Arrangement

Arranged into two key groups; Ecclesiastical Records and Civil Records

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see http://archives.denbighshire.gov.uk/visit-us/. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.

Geographical Names