Bethel Chapel Records, Tanygrisiau

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Chapel records, 1843-1860, consisting of account books, monthly collections and statistics. One item contains details of some christenings, 1843-1849, whilst other account books include important figures such as the number of members and the number of teetotallers etc.

Also, two note-books in the hand of William Mona Williams - an autobiography and a history of Methodism in Tanygrisiau, 1863-1871.

Administrative / Biographical History

Bethel Calvinist Methodist Chapel in Tanygrisiau, Merioneth was established in 1838. In 1916 the church had 255 communicants but by 1935 the number of members had increased to 317 and then decreased to 233 by 1949. Included amongst the ministers that served the chapel over the years are R. Maurice Williams, Herbert Evans and Isaac Parry.

William Mona Williams was born in Llangefni, Anglesey in 1809, but moved to live in the Tanygrisiau area of Merioneth at the age of 23 in order to work on the Porthmadog and Ffestiniog Railway. In 1839 he was elected a deacon at Tanygrisiau Calvinistic Methodist chapel and in 1844 he emigrated with his family to America, only to return in 1846. He died in 1889.

Arrangement

Arranged according to record type and then chronologically. Incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users.

Note

Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, August 2002.

Other Finding Aids

An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 1525-1530, 2542-2543

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.

Related Material

For further related material held at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor see the William Edwards, Tanygrisiau Papers. A collection level description is available on the Archives Hub.