Photograph of the Barony Church

Scope and Content

The photograph shows the exterior of the new Barony Church, erected in 1889. John Mossman's statue of Norman Macleod, minister of the Barony from 1851-1872, is seen in the foreground, to the left.

Administrative / Biographical History

The business was founded by Thomas Annan (1829-1887), a pioneering photographer working in Glasgow, who was to become famous for his collection of images of the city’s slums taken between 1868 and 1871 and published in the 1870s as the ‘Old Closes and Streets of Glasgow’. Thomas was later joined in business by his brother, Robert, when the company was renamed T. & R. Annan; and subsequently by Thomas’s son, James Craig. In September 1889 the firm was granted a royal warrant as ‘Photographers and Photographic Engravers to Her Majesty in Glasgow.’

Access Information

Open

Acquisition Information

Acc 1357

Note

The business was founded by Thomas Annan (1829-1887), a pioneering photographer working in Glasgow, who was to become famous for his collection of images of the city’s slums taken between 1868 and 1871 and published in the 1870s as the ‘Old Closes and Streets of Glasgow’. Thomas was later joined in business by his brother, Robert, when the company was renamed T. & R. Annan; and subsequently by Thomas’s son, James Craig. In September 1889 the firm was granted a royal warrant as ‘Photographers and Photographic Engravers to Her Majesty in Glasgow.’

Custodial History

The photograph formerly hung in the Patrick Thomas Room of the Barony, on the wall above the fireplace. It was subsequently given a Collins Gallery Artlink reference code: GLAEX 734.

Additional Information

published