Barony Church Memorabilia

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Church magazines and reports; Plans; Pulpit Bible: History of the Church; Grand Bazaar programme; Orders of service; Information on stained glass windows

Administrative / Biographical History

The Barony congregation of the Church of Scotland was in existence for several hundred years in Glasgow, in the neighbourhood of Glasgow Cathedral. In 1895 the congregation raised funds for a new church building on the opposite side of Cathedral Square, the site of the former Townhead Gas Works. The final service was held in the Church in 1985, when the building was sold to the University of Strathclyde. After restoration, the building came into use as the Barony Hall of the University, used for graduations, examinations and functions. The Barony congregation dispersed in 1985.

Conditions Governing Access

Open

Other Finding Aids

Catalogued online to item level

Archivist's Note

Archivist's note: Description prepared by Margaret Harrison, Web version by Graham S. Holton, Jordanhill LibraryRules or Conventions: Description based on Scottish Archive Network guidelines, based on ISAD(G): General International Standard Archival Description, International Council on Archives (2nd edition, 2000). and Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names, National Council on Archives (1997)Date of descriptions: November 2008

Related Material

GB 243 Barony Church records held in Glasgow City Archives