Parish records of Monk Fryston

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1538-1894; register of marriages, 1538-1943; register of burials, 1538-1756, 1758-1924 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1783-1812, ages only); register of banns, 1863-1938; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, c.1668-1774, accounts and rates for Burton Salmon, 1827-1921, and pew list, 1836; records of incumbents, including notes on incumbents, 1809-1821, and statistical returns, 1923-1931; school managers’ minute book, 1900-1923; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1938-1956.

Administrative / Biographical History

The present church at Monk Fryston dates largely to the thirteenth century, although the lower portion of the church tower is Anglo-Saxon in origin. It was appropriated to the Prebend of Wistow before 1222 and remained subject to the prebend’s peculiar jurisdiction until the nineteenth century. The living was augmented in 1815 by parliamentary grant.

The parish church is dedicated to St Wilfrid of Ripon, although surviving wills from the sixteenth century suggest it was originally dedicated to St Mary. It was restored between 1889 and 1891 by architects J. Hall Thorp & Son of Leeds, largely at the expense of the Hemsworth family of Monk Fryston Hall, who also donated the church organ. A church hall was built by George Pace and Ronald Sims and opened in 1970.

The parish includes Burton Salmon and Hillam. In 1985 Monk Fryston was merged with South Milford parish and today it is part of the benefice of Monk Fryston and South Milford.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1979. Further additions were made to the archive in 1984, 1985 and 2003.

Note

The present church at Monk Fryston dates largely to the thirteenth century, although the lower portion of the church tower is Anglo-Saxon in origin. It was appropriated to the Prebend of Wistow before 1222 and remained subject to the prebend’s peculiar jurisdiction until the nineteenth century. The living was augmented in 1815 by parliamentary grant.

The parish church is dedicated to St Wilfrid of Ripon, although surviving wills from the sixteenth century suggest it was originally dedicated to St Mary. It was restored between 1889 and 1891 by architects J. Hall Thorp & Son of Leeds, largely at the expense of the Hemsworth family of Monk Fryston Hall, who also donated the church organ. A church hall was built by George Pace and Ronald Sims and opened in 1970.

The parish includes Burton Salmon and Hillam. In 1985 Monk Fryston was merged with South Milford parish and today it is part of the benefice of Monk Fryston and South Milford.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2003.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, marriages, burials, 1538-1885, and banns, 1863-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 739, 1762).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 25.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Additional parish records relating to Monk Fryston, including parish restoration plans and drawings, correspondence, a printed history and other papers can be found in Miscellaneous Documents 227.

Bibliography

Parish Register Society, 'The registers of Monk Fryston in the West Riding of Yorkshire: 1538-1678.' Transcribed and edited by John David Hemsworth (London, 1896).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193