Benjamin Britten: Waltzes for piano

Scope and Content

Ten waltzes for piano, followed by a 'Waltz Duet' and a 'Petite Valse'. Autograph music manuscript, in pencil (except for f. 1 and the first stave of f. 1v, which are in ink).

  • front cover (dated 'March 1925') entitled: 'Walztes [sic] / composed / by / Edward Benjamin Britten / Opus 3 / 1925 / dedicated to My Father: / R. V. Britten Esq.' (f. i);
  • Waltz 1 (ff. 1-2v);
  • Waltz 2 (ff. 3-4);
  • Waltz 3 (ff. 4-6);
  • Waltz 4 (ff. 6-9);
  • Waltz 5 (ff. 9-10);
  • Waltz 6 (ff. 10v-11);
  • Waltz 7 (ff. 11v-12);
  • Waltz 8 (ff. 12-13);
  • Waltz 9 (ff. 13v-14);
  • Waltz 10, mis-numbered as '9' and corrected by Britten as '10' (ff. 14v-15);
  • 'Waltz Duet' (ff. 15v-18);
  • 'Petite Valse' (f. 18v).

Access Information

Restrictions to access apply please consult British Library staff

Not Public Record(s)

Alternative Form Available

Digitised copy available on British Library Digitised Manuscripts:

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Re-bound (sewn) music manuscript notebook (A. Weekes & Co. Ltd., 14 Hanover St, London) with original soft covers. Dimensions: 295 x 235 mm.


In 1970, Britten published Five Walztes (retaining his original mis-spelling in the title), four of which were edited and revised from '10 Walztes' (1925) in manuscript, supplemented by a fifth Waltz (1923) from another manuscript source. See Paul Banks, Benjamin Britten: A Catalogue of the Published Works (1999), p. 3. See also, Christopher Mark, Early Benjamin Britten: A Study of Stylistic Evolution (1995), pp. 8-10. Mark reproduces Waltzes 1-2 and 5-9 (Appendix I, pp. 273-90). An arrangement of Waltz 6, Mark notes (p. 10), provided the 'scherzo' for Britten's Sonata in D Major for violin and piano (Add MS 60625) composed the following month.