Society records of the Methodist Church, Stockton on the Forest Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Records of Trustees, including Treasurer's account book, 1828-1956, and file of correspondence about the trust deed and the appointment of new trustees, 1900-1902; collection journal, 1922-1931; file of correspondence about the sale of the old chapel, 1961-1966; Sunday School teachers' meeting minute book, 1922-1932.

Administrative / Biographical History

The earliest reference to a Wesleyan Methodist chapel in Stockton on the Forest was in 1826 when Thomas and Susannah Wilkinson gifted two ground floor rooms at the rear of Stockton House for use as a meeting house or chapel for Methodist services, with a schoolroom attached.

A new chapel was built in the village c.1960 and the church was given permission to sell the old chapel rooms.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Stockton Chapel joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, it continued as part of the York, Clifton Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion. In 1957 it became part of York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit and from 1972 it was part of York, North Circuit.

The new chapel was later substantially rebuilt but was closed in 2010.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in the 1980s.

Note

The earliest reference to a Wesleyan Methodist chapel in Stockton on the Forest was in 1826 when Thomas and Susannah Wilkinson gifted two ground floor rooms at the rear of Stockton House for use as a meeting house or chapel for Methodist services, with a schoolroom attached.

A new chapel was built in the village c.1960 and the church was given permission to sell the old chapel rooms.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Stockton Chapel joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, it continued as part of the York, Clifton Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion. In 1957 it became part of York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit and from 1972 it was part of York, North Circuit.

The new chapel was later substantially rebuilt but was closed in 2010.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 28.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit and York, New Street (renamed Clifton Circuit) of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion and the York, Clifton; York, Clifton & Monkgate; and York, North Circuits of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. These all form a single archive: Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York (New Street) Circuit (MRC/1).

Additional Information

Published

GB193