Papers relating to the founding of Y Cofiadur and it's early years, 1921-1925. Includes correspondence, reports, list of members, proof copies and articles.
Y Cofiadur Records
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS COFI
- Dates of Creation1921 - 1925
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialWelsh.
- Physical Description15 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Y Cofiadur is the journal of Cymdeithas Hanes Annibynwyr Cymru (The History Society of the Congregationalists of Wales).
The Society was established in 1921 and the members of it's committee during the first year were, J. E. Lloyd, D. M. Lewis, John Evans, J. Morgan Jones, Rev. H. Elvet Lewis, D. H. Williams, R. Peris Williams and George T. Davies. Along with other members, they recognised the need to collect information in order to write a complete history of the Congregational churches, their establishments and movements.
The first edition of Y Cofiadur was published in March 1923.
Arranged according to record type and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, June 2002.
Other Finding Aids
An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 13846 - 13859
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.