Conwy Hospital Collection

Scope and Content

Some records clearly relate to Groesynyd Hospital, near Conway, which was approved for closure in March 1989. All the remaining records are assumed to relate to Conway Hospital.

Administrative / Biographical History

Conwy Hospital was originally the site of the Conway Poor Law Union Workhouse. Following the abolition of workhouses with the introduction of the 1930 Local Government Act, the Workhouse was renamed the St Mary's and Dolwaen Public Assistance Institution. From 1948 it became known as Conwy Hospital when it was transferred to the management of the Welsh Hospitals' Board. It was subsequently managed by Caernarfon and Anglesey Hospital Management Committee and following reorganisation in 1974 came under the Gwynedd District Health Authority. Following further reorganisation in 1999 it was managed by Conwy and Denbighshire NHS Trust. Conway Hospital finally closed in 2003. The buildings were demolished in 2004 to make way for new housing.

Conditions Governing Access

Aspects of this collection are open for research, however a large proportion is has restricted access due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.

Custodial History

Transferred in 2003 upon the Hospital's closure