Personal papers of Allan Glen; Plans and deeds; Financial records; Acts of Parliament, Educational Endowments, Correspondence with SED etc; Building report; HMI reports; Bursary and Scholarship applicants; Lists of teachers; School magazine and newsletters; Books and pamphlets on the history of the School; Book of remembrance 1939-1945; Coat of arms
Records of Allan Glen's Institution
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 249 ODC
- Dates of Creation1850-2003
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.5 metre
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Allan Glen's Institution was founded in 1853 under the Will of Allan Glen (1772-1850), wright in Glasgow, who made 'provision for giving gratuitously a good practical education to about 50 boys, sons of tradesmen or persons in the industrial classes in Glasgow'. The School was built on land owned by Glen at the corner of Cathedral Street and North Hanover Street.
It was incorporated by Act of Parliament in 1876 and concentrated increasingly on scientific and technical education. It was an important feeder school for Anderson's University, and a significant number of pupils won scholarships to Cambridge University and Imperial College, London. In 1887 Allan Glen's became part of the Glasgow and West of Scotland Technical College and in 1912 the School was transferred to the control of the School Board of Glasgow.
Further information may be found in the published histories by Joseph Rae, 'The history of Allan Glen's School, 1853-1953' and the updated 'History of Allan Glen's School and Allan Glen's School Club, 1853-2003', by James Murray.
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
Typed list to item level
Archivist's note:Description prepared by Margaret Harrison, Jordanhill LibraryRules or Conventions:Description based on Scottish Archive Network guidelines, based on ISAD(G): General International Standard Archival Description, International Council on Archives (2nd edition, 2000). and Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names, National Council on Archives (1997)
Date of descriptions:July 2007