Gwynedd County Council Deeds

Scope and Content

Deeds from the parishes of Bangor and Pentir, 1833-1968; Llangian, 1772-1899; Llangwstenin, 1919-1948; Llanllyfni, 1897, 1913; Llanrhos, 1896-1925 ; Llanrug, 1786-1946; Llanwnda, 1863-1923; Penmachno, 1885-1916; township of Pwllheli, 1887, Conwy, 1859-1907; Porthmadog, 1855-1901; Caernarfon, 1680-1944; and Bangor (town), 1884-1897.

Administrative / Biographical History

Gwynedd County Council was established in 1974 as the local authority for Gwynedd, which from 1974 until 1996 comprised the old counties of Anglesey, Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire. Bangor, Pentir, Llangian, Llangwstenin, Llanllyfni, Llanrbos, Llanrug, Llanwnda and Penmachno were parishes in Caernarfonshire in which the Council owned property, receiving older deeds realting to the land.


Arranged into: parishes of Bangor and Pentir; township of Conwy; parish of Llangian; parish of Llangwstenin; parish of Llanllyfni; parish of Llanrhos; parish of Llanrug; parish of Llanwnda; parish of Penmachno; township of Pwllheli; Bangor, Caernarfon and Porthmadog.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions


Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Catalogue of the County Council Deeds and Gwynedd County Council- old title deeds.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Caernarfon Record Office and the National Library of Wales. The catalogue is available online.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at Caernarfon Record Office have been retained.


Accruals are not expected.