Pembroke Rural District Council Records

Scope and Content

Records of Pembroke Rural District Council, 1871-1976, comprising Clerk's department records, 1871-1974, including minutes of Pembroke District Highway Board, 1871-1905, Pembroke Union Rural Sanitary Authority, 1872-1900, and the RDC, 1900-1974, committee minutes, 1913-1974, letter books, 1900-1964, subject files, 1921-1972, registers, 1908-1970, office papers, 1937-1974, and byelaws, 1908-1965; Treasurer's department records, 1889-1972, including ledgers, 1889-1962, statutory financial statements, 1905-1950, wages and salaries records, 1921-1967, vouchers, 1948-1972, valuation lists, 1918-1962, and rate books, 1902, 1928-1969; Sanitary Inspectors' records, 1924-1976; and maps and plans, 1945-1970, relating mainly to housing, water and sewerage schemes.

Administrative / Biographical History

Pembroke Rural District Council (RDC) was created under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. It originally comprised the parishes of Angle, Bosherston, Burton, Carew, Castlemartin, Cosheston, Gumfreston, Hodgeston, Hundleton, Lamphey, Lawrenny, Llanstadwell, Manorbier, Nash, Penally, Pwllcrochan, Redberth, Rhoscrowther, Rosemarket, St Florence, St Mary Out-Liberty, St Petrox, St Twynnells, Stackpole Elidor, Upton and Warren. In 1934 Burton, Llanstadwell and Rosemarket were transferred to Haverfordwest RDC. The Council comprised councillors and a chairman and took over the responsibilities of Pembroke District Highway Board and Pembroke Union Rural Sanitary Authority. Its responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries and parks, licensing of public entertainments, water supply and housing. It also became a rating authority in 1925. Rural District Councils were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Sanitary Inspector, Housing Officer, Surveyor and Rating Officer. Pembroke Rural District Council was abolished in 1974 following local government reorganisation and its functions were assumed by South Pembrokeshire District Council.


Arranged into the following: Sanitary Inspector; maps and plans; Surveyor; Clerk's department; and Treasurer's department.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Transferred by Mr I. Vincent, South Pembrokeshire District Council, Pembroke Dock, 1979; transferred by Modern Records, 1983; transferred by Mr J. Hogg, Environmental Health Department, South Pembrokeshire District Council, 1983; deposited by Mr R. L. Black, Principal Administration Officer, South Pembrokeshire District Council, 1991.


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Pembroke Rural District Council, catalogue; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997); Richards, Melville, Welsh Administrative and Territorial Units (Cardiff, 1969).

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

Only a sample of Treasurer's vouchers have been retained. The remainder have been destroyed. The item formerly listed as PER/SE/16/1 has now been given the reference HDX/909.


Accruals are not expected