General items relating to the Eye Infirmary; c.1820s-1990; Annual Reports, 1861-1865; student notebook, 1764-1765; documents relating to William Brown, 1821-1873; documents relating to ophthalmological instruments, 1890-c.1949; pharmaceutical labels c.1930s-1980s; medical and ophthalmological, photographs, prints and illustrations, c.1830s-c.1960s; photographs of the Infirmary, 1998; medical illustrations from Universitäts-Augenklinik, Basel, 1924-c.1937.
Collection of items relating to the Glasgow Eye Infirmary
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 250 RCPSG 47
- Dates of Creation1764-1998
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description3 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Infirmary was founded in 1824. In 1874 it moved into purpose built accommodation in the West End of Glasgow at Berkeley St which, by the late 1880s, had over 100 beds. The Infirmary continued to run an outpatients department in the East End. In 1945 the Spencer Research Committee was formed with capital of over £12,000, to oversee research in the GEI. In 1971 the entire in-patient accommodation at Berkeley St was destroyed by fire. From 1948 to 1974 the Glasgow Eye Infirmary was under the Board of Management for Glasgow Western (later Western and Gartnavel) Hospitals. In 1974 it was placed in the Western District of the Greater Glasgow Health Board and in 1993 it became the responsibility of the West Glasgow University NHS Trust. It was transferred to Gartnavel Hospital in 1998.
Arranged chronologically within record series.
Conditions Governing Access
Access to some items may be restricted. Please contact the Archivist at the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow.
Gift from a member of the Glasgow Eye Infirmary.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list available at the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow.
Conditions Governing Use
Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance from the Archivist. We will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but the responsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the reader.
Appraised in accordance with GB 250's collection policy.
Held at the Glasgow Eye Infirmary.
Location of Originals
This material is original.
No known publications.