The company was first established following an Act of 21 April 1769 which permitted the construction of a canal running between Oxford and Coventry. Construction commenced in 1769, with the final section extending into Oxford completed in 1790. A Consolidating Act was passed on 14th May 1829 and the company chartered as the 'Company of Proprietors of Oxford Canal Navigation'. In 1935, the name of the company was changed to the 'Oxford Canal Company'.
The company was dissolved in 1947 and became part of the British Transport Commission.
These records, primarily comprising title deeds, rate books and legal papers, were deposited as accessions 150 and 310 in 1949 and 1957.
Originally catalogued under reference Ox. and recatalogued by Katherine Kinrade in August 2021.
For further material relating to the canal, see collections O50, Thames Navigation Commission and B112, Oxford Canal Company.