Registers of St Andrews, St Teilo, St Illtyd of baptisms 1863-1954; marriages, 1863-1954; burials, 1863-1899; services, 1879-1976; banns, 1898-1988; churchwardens accounts, 1936-1973; parochial church council and easter vestry, 1863-2000; church affairs, 1894-1911; church organisations, 1909-1966; parish magazines, 1932-1955; miscellaneous and civil records, 1847-1970s; Cathays National School records, 1868-1955
Cardiff, St Andrew and St Teilo Ecclesiastical Parish Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 214 P153CW
- Dates of Creation1863-2001
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description85 volumes, 12 files, 11 booklets, 5 plans, 13 photographs, 1 paper, 1 card, 2 parchments, 2 bundles
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
St Andrews church was built as a chapel of ease to St John, Cardiff in 1863 and formed into a separate parish in 1884. St Teilo, Woodville Road was a chapel of ease to St Andrew, erected in 1895 to replace a temporary building of 1879 in Corbett Road, the church was consecrated 11 Dec 1901. The Iron church of St Illtyd stood in Crwys Road. Services stopped at St Andrew's 16th January 1955 and in 1956 it was rededicated as Eglwys Dewi Sant serving the Welsh speaking population. St Teilos became the parish church of St Andrew and St Teilo.
In 1988 St Andrew and St Teilo became a suspended parish and came under the University Chaplaincy. On 27 Jun 2000 St Andrew and St Teilo was received into the Rectorial Benefice of Central Cardiff as the University Chaplaincy church, merging with the former parish of St John, including St James and St Michael and all Angels on Whitchurch Road. The church of St Andrew and St Teilo held a recognisable role as the Anglican Higher Education Chaplaincy Church but with a vicar working in the Cathays community alongside the university chaplain.
St Teilo's has a long standing association with the University and Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, becoming an arts venue and hosting many musical concerts. A charitable company, St Teilo Arts was established by the church with external financial backing. A building was redeveloped as a venue for the arts, providing flexible stage lighting and other facilities so that it may be used as a rehearsal and performance venue.
In 2007 the parish of St Andrew's and St Teilo's became part of Cathays Parish with St Michael and All Angels, with St John the Baptist becoming its own parish again. This grouping was originally proposed in 1984 (see P153CW/35).
In 2019 the Bishop of Llandaff, The Right Reverend June Osborne invited a team from Harbour Church in Portsmouth (a Holy Trinity Brompton plant-church) to plant a City Centre Resource Church in the heart of Cardiff using St Teilo's building which was refurbished. The existing Incumbent and congregation of St Teilo's moved to meet in St Michael's, the other church building in the parish of Cathays. The new Conventional District of Citizen Church Cardiff launched in Autumn 2020.
Land for a school site was gifted to the Diocese of Llandaff from the Marquess of Bute in 1869. The school suffered various building issues over the years including a fire in 1906 and war damage in 1941. By the 1950s the school was considered to be in such a state that it should be closed, closing 1st January 1955. The school site became the property of the Llandaff Diocese Board of Finance and was sold by Stephenson & Alexander.
Chronological within record series.
Items containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with data protection legislation and GA policy.
Deposited by the incumbent, 1988 and 2020
Compiled by Annabel Wickham for the ANW Project; Sources used: Glamorgan Record Office finding aids; Williams and Watts-Williams, Confrestri Plwyf Cymru/Parish Registers of Wales, (Aberystwyth, 2000); www.churchinwales.org.uk
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Record Office conditions apply
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records remained in the custody of the depositor until transferred to Glamorgan Archives.
Accruals are possible