Copiale Prioratus Sanctiandree, 1443.

Scope and Content

Rotographic facsimile reproduction of Wolfenbuttel Ms Codex Helmstedt 411 [Copiale Prioratus Sanctiandree: the letterbook of James Haldenstone prior of St Andrews].

Administrative / Biographical History

A priory of Augustinian canons was founded around 1127 by Robert, bishop of St Andrews. The small eleventh century church of St Rule was extended to function as a church for the canons and also as cathedral for the see of St Andrews. The priory had 3 dependent houses, Porkmoak or Loch Leven priory, Pittenweem and Monymusk. St Andrews cathedral, administered by the canons, was begun in 1160, but not completed until 1318. James Haldenstone was prior of the cathderal from 1418 until 1443.


Single item

Access Information

By appointment with the Keeper of Manuscripts. Access to records containing confidential information may be restricted.

Acquisition Information

Rotographs made on the instruction of the Court of the University of St Andrews with the consent of the owner, 1924.


Call number used to be ms1347

Other Finding Aids

Individual Manuscripts and Small Collections database available as part of Manuscripts Database.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Binding: Blue cloth on boards with university crest on spine.Paper: 18.5x24cm

Archivist's Note

Description compiled by Maia Sheridan, Archives Hub project archivist, based on material from the Manuscripts Database

Conditions Governing Use

Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Keeper of Manuscripts. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents. Copyright lies with the present owner of the original ms.



Location of Originals

Wolfenbuttel Ms Codex Helmstedt 411


Printed in James Houston Baxter, Copiale Prioratus Sancti Andree, St Andrews University Publications, XXXI, 1930.

Geographical Names